We know you may be curious about the status of Vegan products on our site. The short answer is that all products are Vegan aside from Egg, Cheese, and 100% Whole Wheat Bagels (honey). So, that means we are shipping bagels to you that are all vegan. Just to be sure here is your list to go off of. We do use L-Cysteine in our bagels, but it is plant-based and is derived from corn.


  1. Perfect 10 + Healthy Grain
  2. Perfect 10 + Everything
  3. Perfect 10 MAXX Healthy Grain
  4. Perfect 10 MAXX Everything
  5. Alternative Plain
  6. Alternative Cinnamon Spice
  7. Alternative Blueberry
  8. Alternative Wheat ( No honey)
  9. Alternative Onion
  10. Alternative Bagelettes Onion
  11. Alternative Bagelettes Wheats ( No honey)
  12. Alternative Bagelettes Pumpkin


  1. Egg Bagels
  2. 100% Whole Wheat Bagels (including Sesame, Everything)
  3. Sprouted Wheat Bagels (including Cinnamon Raisin, Sesame, Everything)
  4. Cheese Bagels

So, you’re starting to wonder where’s wheat? Well, wheat is technically not vegan since there is honey.

According to the experts over at Vegan.com, they go by this definition:

“To begin our consideration of this topic, let’s start by looking at how the word vegan differs from vegetarian.”

Vegetarian diets eschew meat and fish, but commonly allow eggs and dairy products. Veganism takes this idea to the next level, cutting out every item of animal origin.

Vegan choices deliver three big advantages over their vegetarian counterparts:

  1. additional avoidance of animal mistreatment and slaughter
  2. reduction of certain health risks
  3. decrease of environmental footprint

With those benefits in mind, let’s now take a step back and look at the first time the word vegan appeared in print.

So, if we’re going to use the framework of ‘cutting our every item of animal origin’, the 100% Whole Wheat bagels would not be considered Vegan.

As a company that comes from a place to take your eating restrictions and choices seriously we would like you to interpret the idea of Veganism as you like. We have done our best to get rid of all Vegan ingredients in the products that we could.

If you are interested in ordering the Baker’s dozen, the bagels that we make in our bagel cafes’ then you would like to look here.


  1. Plain
  2. Onion
  3. Everything
  4. Sesame
  5. Cinnamon Raisin 
  6. Blueberry
  7. Chocolate Chip
  8. Cinnamon Crunch
  9. Garlic
  10. Green (seasonal)
  11. Jalapeno
  12. Long Bialy
  13. Poppyseed
  14. Pumpernickel
  15. Pumpkin (Seasonal)
  16. Raisin
  17. Round Bialy
  18. Rye
  19. Sourdough
  20. Strawberry
  21. Salt


  1. 100% Whole Wheat Everything
  2. 100% Whole Wheat Onion
  3. 100% Whole Wheat Sesame
  4. 100% Whole Wheat*
  5. Sprouted Wheat
  6. Sprouted Wheat Raisin
  7. Sprouted Wheat Sesame
  8. Honey Wheat
  9. Cheese

Not sure? Well, PETA backs our claims of Vegan Bagels in this list.

If you’re super interested in the science behind our bagels claiming Vegan. We use a corn based L-cysteine. L-cysteine is our dough softener. In the early stages of bread production it was not uncommon for some manufacturers to use L-cysteine that was derived from poultry feathers or even human hair. We do not do that, ours are from plant-based fully vegan corn.

According to Healthline, there are a few common occasions to as when bagels could be non-vegan. That can be seen below:

What makes a bagel non-vegan?

Some bagel recipes or store-bought products may include non-vegan ingredients, including:

  • Honey. Certain recipes use honey or honey powder in place of sugar or malt. While some vegans eat honey, most don’t (3).
  • Eggs. These are sometimes added to the dough for flavor and color and may be used to glaze a bagel to give it some shine.
  • Milk. In some recipes, milk is used in place of water.
  • L-cysteine. This amino acid and dough softener is sometimes used in commercial bagel products. It’s usually derived from human hair or poultry feathers. However, there are also vegan production methods (4, 5 Trusted Source

Additionally, many bagel fillings or toppings are not considered vegan, including:

  • Dairy products: cream cheese, hard cheese, whipped cream, etc.
  • Meats: beef, ham, turkey, chicken, etc.
  • Fish: smoked salmon, canned tuna, caviar, etc.
  • Eggs: including in sauces like hollandaise or mayonnaise